shopping cart0
Call for support:

North Carolina P&C Insurance Licensing And Exam Prep Classes

Property And Casualty Insurance Courses In North Carolina

Property & Casualty Insurance LicenseAbout The North Carolina Property And Casualty Insurance License

Before you can start selling property or casualty insurance in North Carolina, you will need to be properly licensed. How does it all work? can show you. We'll tell you everything you need to know about pre-licensing requirements, the licensing exam and how to prepare.

What A Property And Casualty License In North Carolina Can Do For You

One of North Carolina residents' greatest insurance needs is property and casualty. Anyone that owns a home needs to protect it with quality insurance, which is where you come in. Whether you choose to specialize in property and casualty or add it to a variety of other insurance lines, a property and casualty insurance license is a great way to boost your business in North Carolina.

What Are The Best Markets For Selling Property & Casualty Insurance In North Carolina?

It makes sense to sell your P&C policies where there are the most people, and in North Carolina that would be Charlotte, Raleigh, Greensboro, Durham, Winston-Salem, Fayetteville, Cary, Wilmington, High Point, Greenville, and/or Asheville.

FYI: According to recent statistics: There were 133,946 flood insurance policies in North Carolina; The insured value of properties in coastal areas of North Carolina totaled $178 billion; Hurricane Sandy resulted in $57 million in private insurance claims in North Carolina.

Recommended North Carolina P&C Insurance Licensing Courses And Exam Prep Materials

To find North Carolina property and casualty insurance licensing courses, practice exams, and other exam prep materials, simply click on any of the recommended courses below or select "Property & Casualty" and your state from the "Licensing" section of the search box below. Good luck passing your North Carolina P&C insurance licensing exam and becoming a North Carolina insurance agent!

Top FAQs

Yes. You must be licensed by the state in which they wish to sell insurance.
You must take your state-required pre-licensing course, then pass your state's licensing exam. After passing your exam, you typically must meet any basic state requirements such as a minimum age, passing a background check, etc.
In North Carolina, it takes 40 hours to complete your state's required pre-licening course.
The exam will cover both a general section with basic insurance product knowledge, and a state section with specific insurance laws, rules, regulations, and practices that are unique to North Carolina.
You will have 150 minutes for 110 questions
The licensing exam fee is $45, fingerprinting is $38 and the license application fee is $132.
Find Seminars, Webinars, And Online Training In Your Area
Earn your License quickly and easily!
Designations / Certifications
Improve your knowledge and industry standing!
Professional Development
Products & Services to help manage and grow your career!

Requirements For Becoming A North Carolina Property And Casualty Insurance Agent

Property And Casualty Prelicense Requirements For North Carolina Resident Agents

In North Carolina, you must follow specific pre-licensing requirements. If you are seeking a license for just property insurance or just casualty insurance, you will need 20 hours of state-approved coursework. If you want to pursue both lines, expect to put in 40 hours. You can find the courses you need at Agent Broker Training Center.

Once you complete your pre-licensing coursework, you will take a certification exam to prove that you have attended and absorbed the required information. If you pass, you will receive a certificate of completion that will serve as your licensing exam admission ticket. You must pass your licensing exam within 90 days of receiving your certification, so schedule your test right away.

North Carolina Property And Casualty Exam Requirements

The first step after completing pre-licensing is to fill out an NIPR application online. Pay the fees and complete the application to receive a Pearson VUE authorization email, which will contain your National Producer Number (NPN). You will need this number and other information from the authorization email to be admitted to the test.

You will also receive a link to the Fingerprint Submission Packet. Contact your local police department to find out where and when you can get fingerprinted. Be sure to bring the form and a photo I.D. A law enforcement officer must sign your packet. Once completed, send the form to the North Carolina Licensing Office at Pearson VUE.

You can schedule your test online at Pearson VUE for a $45 fee. When you arrive, make sure you have your certification, authorization email and two forms of valid government I.D. like a driver's license or passport. One form of identification does not have to include a photo.

If you pass the exam, your score report will indicate as such and your score will be automatically sent to NIPR where your application is pending. If everything is in order, you should receive an email enabling you to print your license within a few days.

Contact Info: North Carolina Property And Casualty License Requirements

To help with your examination scheduling, we have provided below information on North Carolina licensing requirements, its insurance department, and examination scheduling facilities.

North Carolina Insurance Adjuster LicenseNorth Carolina Department of Insurance
Address: 1204 Mail Service Center | Raleigh, NC 27699-1204
Phone: 919.807.6800
Fax: 919.715.3794

Examination Scheduling
Provider: Pearson VUE
Phone: 1.800.274.0668

Good luck passing your North Carolina P&C insurance licensing exam!

Other Insurance Licensing Courses For North Carolina:


This information is based on state laws and regulations, and is subject to change. ABTrainingCenter makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, ABTrainingCenter is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.
Agent Broker Training Center 5755 North Point Parkway Suite 227 Alpharetta, GA 30022 770-410-9375
Stay Up To Date
Need training or resources in other areas? Try our other Training Center sites:
HR Accounting Banking Mortgage Payroll Real Estate Safety